Meaningful Meanderings

Chris Mark's Blogfolio

A Trip to the San Diego Zoo on Video CD November 25, 2010

Filed under: Teaching with Technology,Web 2.0 — Christine Mark @ 10:34 am
Tags: , ,

The first assignment for IT 644 was to produce a Photo CD. For this assignment I thought about my recent trip to San Diego. My husband and I went to San Diego in March of 2010 to attend and do presentations at the National Business Education Association Conference. We went to San Diego before the start of the conference so we could explore the area. We visited the San Diego Zoo on my birthday. I thought this assignment would provide an opportunity for me to display some of photos from the zoo. Click below to view:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11256224/christinemark-assign1.wmv

I went through the digital pictures I took at the zoo with my camera and choose 24 that I thought were very nice. I used Picnik to do some photo editing. I cropped some pictures and changed the brightness or resolution on others. Picnik was great. It was free and very easy to use and can be used for many editing functions. The next step was to use Photostory with the edited pictures to create a photo slideshow. I did run into a problem with Photostory. I discovered that Windows Vista can’t run Photostory so I could not complete my project on my laptop. Not a big deal really as I used my desktop computer in my office which has Windows XP. Using Photostory I was able to put captions and titles into the slideshow as well as transition effects and music. I choose to use Simon and Garfunkle’s It’s All Happening at the Zoo as my music.
The final file was uploaded to Dropbox. Dropbox is a great Web 2.0 tool that syncs your files online and across your computers. If you put your files into your Dropbox folder on one computer, and they’ll automatically appear on any of your other computers that also have Dropbox installed. There is also an app for smartphones and mobile devices and you can always access your files from the Dropbox website. This is a great method to organize and share files.


This first assignment used many tools that would be very beneficial in teaching and learning. Picnik could be used for any photo editing needs and it is free and extremely easy to use. Photostory was fun and easy to use and could be used by instructors to put a presentation or lesson together or have students use it to put together a presentation. I found it a great opportunity to be creative. Dropbox was the most valuable tool of all. I placed my class PowerPoint files on my Dropbox and it was very helpful when I forgot mu flash drive and could access my files online. I am definitely a fan!!!


Overall, I think this assignment contained my elements that can be used in teaching and learning and proved to fun informative, fun and creative.



 

Leave a Reply

