Meaningful Meanderings

Chris Mark's Blogfolio

I Made a Drop Using Drop.io July 21, 2010

Filed under: file sharing,Second Life,Web 2.0 — Christine Mark @ 5:25 pm
Tags: , ,

I had never heard of Drop.io before I completed an assignment about how it is used.  Drop.io is an online private sharing and real-time collaboration service that is designed to be simple. It allows users to create ‘drops’ that are used for uploading and sharing documents, images, video, audio, and other digital content.  Drop.io does not require users to create accounts and set up passwords.  Users can’t search on Drop.io for content.   I was initially surprised to read that Drop.io was named one of Time Magazine‘s 50 Best Websites of 2009.  After learning more about Drop.io and trying out some of the features I was no longer surprised that it made the best Website list. It is a simple concept based on users dropping files which include documents, images, videos and audio files.

I created a drop on the Drop.io Website.  Drop.io generates an email address, a phone number to leave recorded messages and a phone number for conference calls.  The assignment was to create an audio file using the phone number generated by Drop.io.  I did an audio tutorial on the “social side” of Second Life and specifically how to find and attend events in music venues.  The following is my URL:

http://drop.io/it860project 

So in essence I created a podcast.  What an easy way to create a podcast after doing it the traditional way.  Sharing the URL of the drop allows others to listen to the podcast and then they can call the generated phone number and leave an audio file as well.  It was very interesting to listen to everyone’s podcast.

I think Drop.io is a great tool for educators.  I can store files online and have my students access them here from any computer.  Each drop has a limit of 100mb, but users can create multiple drops all for free.  I can leave audio messages for students about assignments coming up or changes in our schedule.  I could have students create podcasts and share them with each other.  I also think it would be a great tool for group collaboration.  Group members could add files to the initial drop and leave messages for each other.  I think Drop.io is an innovative tool with many uses that I hope to discover as I integrate it into my collection of Web 2.0 tools.

 

2 Responses to “I Made a Drop Using Drop.io”

  1. tdedeaux Says:

    It took me a while to see the potential of Drop.io, too. At first I thought it was just an annoying way to do a podcast, but then I learned about the file drops. Suddenly, its usefulness started to make sense.

  2. Donna Says:

    Like Tim, I find the file drops add a whole lot to Drop.io. I do like the idea of students being able to use their cell phones to listen. If they don’t have an MP3 player for podcasts, they’ll probably have a cell phone.


Leave a Reply

